Small successes

G has an ointment for his pink eye that we have to put in each eye every 4-6 hours.  The nurse at the doctors office attempted to show dh how to get it in and had to give up.  G had squeezed his eye shut so hard they couldn’t pry it open and was screaming so loud it sounded like a homicide was in progress.

Since the brute force method didn’t work I decided to try a new tactic.  I wrote a social story outlining what was going to happen and didn’t minimize how hard it was going to be.  I also made a piece of chocolate the reward for cooperating.  Yes – I shamelessly bribed him.  And it worked!  He was very apprehensive about it but I got him to look up long enough to get some in each eye.

I’m learning that the same method may not work every time, so I should pat myself on the back whenever I can.  Go Me!

Published in: on February 11, 2008 at 2:14 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://lynnes.wordpress.com/2008/02/11/small-successes/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

