Autism Awareness Day

I’ve been thinking back to when we first realized we would need to have G evaluated for autism.  I was very upset and emotional – no mother wants her child to face any adversity.  But over time I’ve come to realize that everyone faces challenges and overcomes obstacles.  It makes us understand who we are as individuals and identifies our strengths and weaknesses.  As I worked through my emotions, I kept listening to the same song by John Mayer over and over.  It really helped me work through everything I was feeling:

I hate to see you cry, lying there in that position

There’s things you need to hear, so turn off your tears and listen

Pain throws your heart to the ground

Love turns the whole thing around

No, it won’t all go the way it should,

But I know the heart of life is good.

What this means to me, and what I want other parents to know, is that the posibility of an autism diagnosis is not the end of the world.  In fact, Aspergers may be what makes my child the reading, adding, subtracting, multiplying 4 year old that I love to try and challenge every day.  It may be what makes him see the world in concrete terms and gifts him with the ability to make observations that make me re-evaluate the way I see the world – usually to my benefit.  My son has so many wonderful qualities and so many gifts to give the world as he grows up.  If autism is responsible for that, then I can only be grateful.

Published in: on April 3, 2008 at 3:03 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://lynnes.wordpress.com/2008/04/03/autism-awareness-day/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

