Superstitious

I’m afraid to say anything.  I don’t want to jinx it.  What if I say something and today turns into a bad day?  We’re only a week into the school year, maybe it is too soon to comment.  Maybe if I whisper?  I’ll try that.

School is going well.  G loves his teacher.  He is excited to go to school every day and walks into his classroom without a backward glance at his parents.

His teacher was chosen by the IEP team and seems to be a very good match.  She is kind but strict and is the type to be clear about the rules of the classroom from the start.  She is very consistent with her expectations and routines.  Exactly the environment G needs.  The timekeeping job proved to be a bit too cumbersome but what she does do is print out a list of activities every day for G.  Each one has a checkbox and she reminds him to mark off the activities he’s completed and look for what is coming next.  On the back of the daily list, she has G’s rules for school.  Things like be kind, keep hands and feet to self, raise your hand, etc. 

I am cautiously optomistic.  This time last year we’d already had 2 conferences with the preschool director regarding out of control behavior.  I’m sure a lot of the (I’m afraid to say success) is due to G growing and maturing.  But a lot is due to the work the school has put into preparing for him.

I am certain there will be difficult moments ahead.  But right now I just want to stay in this moment because it’s a good one.

Published in: on September 9, 2008 at 3:12 pm  Comments (4)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://lynnes.wordpress.com/2008/09/09/superstitious/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. So fantastic- I truly hope it continues!

  2. So smart of you to try to live in the moment and enjoy it while it lasts! I’m so happy for you that things are going so well right now. Yippee!

  3. Glad to hear it! Every once in awhile, things have to come together–the law of averages says so! Little Miss lucked out and got the new 4th grade teacher–who used to be the autism support teacher. Finally a fourth grade teacher not afraid of the students!

  4. Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. 🙂 Cheers! Sandra. R.


Leave a Reply

