Just a Day Off

Today was a teacher work day, so no school.  Somehow, attaching the work day to the weekend by making it either friday or monday, and thereby allowing G to soften the break in his routine, was too easy.  I know the school doesn’t plan its schedule around my child, but I’m not in a reasonable frame of mind right now.  Ever try to explain to an extremely routine-bound child that a middle of the week break is ok?  Wait, I forgot my audience.  I’m sure you know exactly what it’s like!

G:  Today is Wednesday, right?

Me:  Yes, today is Wednesday.

G:  It’s not Saturday or Sunday, right?

Me:  No, it is not Saturday or Sunday.  It is Wednesday, and a day off school for kids today.

G:  Just a day off.  It’s not Saturday.  It’s not Sunday.  It’s Wednesday.  Not the weekend, just a day off.  Tomorrow is Thursday and I’ll go back to school.

Repeat this conversation approximately 300 times.  Well, you don’t have to.  In fact, I don’t recommend it.  I can tell you from personal experience that it is a bit maddening.

Published in: on September 25, 2008 at 2:08 am  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://lynnes.wordpress.com/2008/09/25/just-a-day-off/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I love your understatement: “I can tell you from personal experience tha tit is a bit maddening.” hahahahaha! Mind-numbingly painful is more like it!!! 🙂

  2. The understatement got me too. As well as other items from previous posts — “the mother who cried autism” is hilarious! Thanks for visiting me, because now I know where you live and I’m coming back to visit often.


Leave a Reply

