Welcome to my world

Hubby and I are big believers in science.  I’ve taken this to more of an extreme than dh, but for both of us it is safe to say if it hasn’t been proven with a double blind clinical trial, we don’t believe it. 

We’re also a fairly typical couple as far as this autism thing goes.  As the mom, when autism was first discussed as a possibility I read everything I could get my hands on.  Lots of books, lots of blogs, lots of googling health sites and reading studies.  DH took a more typically male, laid back approach, preferring to wait until we knew something definite before he started reading or researching. 

It’s been 5 days since our diagnosis.  DH just came downstairs looking quite upset.  “Did you know Jenny McCarthy has a son with autism?  Did you know she claims he’s recovered?  Did you know she’s recommending  unproven alternative therapies?  Did you know she said she’d rather kids get measles than autism?  Did you know she’s against the vaccine schedule?  There’s no science for any of this, it’s all anecdotal!  And she’s out there on all kinds of talk shows telling parents this!”

Welcome to my world, sweetie.

Published in: on October 1, 2008 at 10:54 pm  Comments (4)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://lynnes.wordpress.com/2008/10/01/welcome-to-my-world/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I have a great anecdote to the horrors of Jenny McCarthyism: go to A Photon in the Darkness. It’s a great blog for people who prefer hard science to wishful thinking and other forms of malarkey.

  2. What a fantastic site! It is exactly in line with our attitudes. Thanks for the link!

  3. Ugh – it just drives me nuts. Hey – when you get a chance check out my blog. I try to write about life in a family with Autism -to show we may be a little different but we’re more like most families than people realize – and just as funny!

  4. I just noticed I wrote “anecdote” instead of “antidote”. Where was my head the other day?


Leave a Reply

