He Won!

I can’t believe it, G’s name was pulled during the ticket drawing!   I hadn’t heard anything from his teacher all day so I was assuming he managed well during the assembly and I was worried for nothing.  It never occurred to me that he would actually win.  I picked G up from school and asked some questions on the way home.

Me:  So G, how was your assembly?

G:  Good

Me: Did you remember to have the good attitude we practiced when you didn’t win the ticket drawing?

G:  I didn’t lose, I won!

Me:  Baaaaawha?

His attitude wasn’t smug or anything, it was more like I was crazy for thinking he could possibly lose.  After all, he followed the proper procedure by earning the ticket and putting it in the box.  How could he possibly lose after that? 

I was so flabbergasted that I let it go and congratulated him the rest of the afternoon.  I really am very proud and don’t want to lose sight of the fact that he earned those tickets with some great behavior.  He’s done a lot of work and has come a long way in the last year.  Still, I think tomorrow I’ll start asking about his classmates that didn’t win and try to get him to see things from their perspective.  Never an easy task, but it will be worth it if it helps prepare for the next assembly.  Unless, of course, he’s right and all he has to do to win is earn a ticket and put it in the box.

Published in: on November 20, 2008 at 3:22 am  Comments (3)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://lynnes.wordpress.com/2008/11/20/he-won/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I KNEW IT!!!!! I just KNEW it!!! *happy dance*

  2. yipee!!!! Good things happen to those who wait – and for some who don’t wait too long 🙂

  3. I don’t know whether to say “congratulations” or “oh, I’m so sorry”. Let’s hope the first win allows him to be a gracious loser next time.


Leave a Reply

