My Angel

Today was the first day of ski-pe.  I was as ready as I could be with everything labeled and packed the night before.  And yet, I was unprepared for the chaos of 30+ kindergarten parents trying to figure out how to drop their kids off for ski-pe.  It’s days like today where I am convinced G’s sensory/autism issues were passed down genetically.  I was overwhelmed and seconds away from throwing myself to the floor in full meltdown mode just like G does when G’s special ed teacher walked by.  She asked how I was doing and all I could say was, “I am so overwhelmed!”  She took both my hands and calmly said, “You’ll get through this, you’re doing just fine.  You can do it.”  And then she disappeared into the crowd.

I did feel much calmer.  I felt focused again.  I was able to finish up jamming G into his ski-boots, getting his heat packs tucked into his gloves, making sure his goggles were attached to his helmet properly and in line for equipment check.  I can’t explain it except to say it was a magical moment for me.

G, by the way, did great.  He was so amped to go skiing today.  He’d greet all his friends excitedly, “Hi L!  It’s ski-pe day!  Are you going skiing too?”  L was decked out from helmet to boots in ski gear, making this a redundant question, but was just as excited about ski day.  It was very cute.  G is participating through the adaptive program again and has the same teacher and assistant as last year.  As long as I can make it through drop-off each week, he’ll be in fabulous hands and have a great time.

Published in: on December 15, 2008 at 6:34 pm  Comments (3)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://lynnes.wordpress.com/2008/12/15/my-angel/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Wow, you rock, two posts in a row! Yay you!

    And kudos to the special ed teacher who talked you off the cliff during your meltdown. Sometimes, I think I need an aide more than my boys!

  2. I can relate very much to how you were feeling! Glad all went well.

  3. I totaly understand those magical moments!


Leave a Reply

