Battle of Wills

DH is not around this evening, so I opted for an easy meal and decided to use some leftover grilled chicken to put together a salad for dinner.  G is a great eater and has had salad often and enjoyed it.  Tonight, as soon as I mentioned the word salad G started making ‘yucky’ noises and flat out refused to eat it.

I should mention at this point that I am an extremely stubborn person.  Extremely.  G gets choices for breakfast and lunch but the house rule is that you eat what is served for dinner or you don’t eat until breakfast because dinner is a more labor-intensive undertaking.  (except for tonight, but a rule is a rule)  So I stated the house rule for G in a firm voice and gave him the choice to eat or not eat.  G fell to the floor shrieking that he would never-ever-ever eat ever-ever again.

I decided if I was going to listen to yelling that it should be political punditry so I’d at least be learning something constructive.  Family dinner became, ‘G and mom eat in front of their own tv sets,’ and I popped in G’s favorite dvd.  I asked G to pick a salad dressing.  G shrieked that he did not need to pick a dressing – didn’t I remember that he was never-ever eating again?  I gave him the choice between ranch and blue cheese.  G shrieked that he would never choose those dressings.  He would only choose vinaigrette.

As I pulled the vinagrette out of the fridge, I decided I’d also be having a glass of savigon blanc with my salad.  I got G’s plate set out, let him watch me pour on the dressing, shake on some cheese and then I left him in the kitchen/playroom while I took my plate to the living room.  A few minutes later I peeked in.  He was eating!!  He eventually ate all the chicken, carrots, cucumbers and some lettuce.  He left the yellow pepper, tomato and mushrooms.  I’m counting this as a win!!

I have no idea what turned the tide.  It might have been that I was very firm.  It might have been offering him choices whenever I could.  Maybe it was leaving the room so he could back down with dignity.  Personally, I think it was the wine.

Published in: on March 20, 2009 at 12:08 am  Comments (5)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://lynnes.wordpress.com/2009/03/20/battle-of-wills/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. So do you think the wine make you just “think” that he ate his food or do you think he had some wine himself and then didn’t care about the salad? 😉

  2. Ha! The salad was gone, I’m not going to ask too many questions! Don’t look a salad fairy in the mouth?

  3. What a strong woman you are! If it’s the wine, I’ll have what she’s having.

  4. can you come be very firm with my kids??? mealtime is a nightmare!!!

    well done mom!

  5. Good for you!


Leave a Reply

