Feeling Tense

G’s having problems with defiance and behavior in school right now.  Not unexpected since he’s readjusting to school after a 2 week break.  His teacher has been staying in close communication and we’ve been discussing the issues.  Sounds great, yes?

Except I find these emails, which I requested in his IEP, really make me tense.  I feel like I should be doing something to address the issues with immediate results.  I feel the need to ‘fix the problem’ and fix it now!  I’m trying to relax and let G’s week simply happen because I think once he gets back into the routine he’ll level out.  But it is really hard.  I’m also worried about being tense and anxious and having G pick up on that, which will make a bad situation worse.  How do I handle this?  What do you do when the school contacts you with problems about your kids?

Published in: on April 23, 2009 at 5:01 pm  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://lynnes.wordpress.com/2009/04/23/feeling-tense/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I think of the reports only as a way for the teachers to keep me in the loop, rather than as a plea for me to fix a problem. Unless they specifically ask for my input or participation in problem-solving, I let what happens at school STAY at school.

    And then I eat extra dessert to keep up my strength. Practicing detachment is hard work.

  2. “I feel the need to ‘fix the problem’ and fix it now! ”

    Oh gosh, I can SO relate to this. I think all moms can, but especially those of us who are raising kids who are challenging in many different ways. As mothers, we’re raised to believe that there is a way to “fix” everything. I think though that your attitude that you’re striving toward (let his week happen) is the right approach. If only we could all just let it happen….

    Hang in there, friend.


Leave a Reply

