I’m freaking out…

We got a call from the school psychologist yesterday.  G refused to go to recess with the other children.  He knows he’ll get in trouble when he hits and he knows it is hard to stop himself from hitting on the playground.  He got super anxious about the whole situation and just completely refused to go.  So his aide took him to the other side of the building, to a quiet spot of grass and they kicked a ball around.  His anxiety is also ramping up in the classroom, causing more incidents there as well, which makes the kids not like him more, which ratchets up the anxiety, which causes more hitting, etc, etc.

The other bomb she dropped is this.  One parent has concerns about the ‘safety of the children’ while G is in the classroom.  So far, this is an isolated situation, but the psychologist is concerned that she’ll voice this concern to other parents and it’ll turn into a very bad situation.  So the presentation to the kids was moved up from next week to today.  G will be out of the class and I plan to attend to hear what the kids are told.  I desperately want this to work – to cut of this vicious cycle.

The principal also suggested we write the classroom parents a letter introducing ourselves and explaining G’s disability and the steps we’re taking to address the problems in the classroom.  Apparently, another family used a similar intro-letter last year and it helped a lot to foster understanding.  We’ve called that family and asked them for help.  I’ve also found a letter to teachers on the Oasis site that we’ve used to help with the language of describing autism/aspergers.  We plan to get this letter sent home no later than Monday because Tuesday is back-to-school night.  I want everyone to be informed so I can address concerns directly. 

I’m panicking.  Truly – I cried all day yesterday (not in front of G, of course) and I barely slept last night.  When I did, I had dreams of parents chasing us through the school with pitchforks and torches.  I am so incredibly grateful that the school is on our side, that they’re attacking this proactively and it isn’t me begging them for help.  I just wish this next week was already behind us.

Published in: on September 18, 2009 at 8:44 am  Comments (6)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://lynnes.wordpress.com/2009/09/18/im-freaking-out/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I dont know who you are but i need yor help. I have a 15 years old daughter that has been thru alot in her short life being diaged with everything from manic depressive to bi polar one med to another and they are thinking its aspergers…. i dont know what diag is going to be this time… we start a new testing next monday. if there is anything you can tell me to look for that is not a common trait.. i would greatly appreciate it..

  2. Oh, my heart just broke when I read this. I think you are right to move up the talk to the kids and DEFINITELY send that letter to parents ASAP. If the parents are on your side, they will talk to their kids too, and hopefully that will help.

    I’m going to a playground “friend” program training next week with a bunch of staff members from my son’s school. It is the first program I’ve seen that addresses these types of issues (along with a whole host of others), and I really think it would help your son. If you email me, I’ll send you what information I can about it after it’s over.

    I pray this issue will start to resolve for him, and therefore for you as well. It’s heartbreaking to say the least.

  3. Oh, my heart just broke when I read this. I think you are right to move up the talk to the kids and DEFINITELY send that letter to parents ASAP. If the parents are on your side, they will talk to their kids too, and hopefully that will help.

    I’m going to a playground “friend” program training next week with a bunch of staff members from my son’s school. It is the first program I’ve seen that addresses these types of issues (along with a whole host of others), and I really think it would help your son. If you email me, I’ll send you what information I can about it after it’s over.

    I pray this issue will start to resolve for him, and therefore for you as well. It’s heartbreaking to say the least.
    P.S. – Sorry, forgot to tell you great post!

  4. […] We updated our letter from last year to make it current and it went out to the classroom parents this week.  G’s […]

  5. […] updated our letter from last year to make it current and it went out to the classroom parents this week.  G’s […]

  6. […] updated our letter from last year to make it current and it went out to the classroom parents this week.  G’s […]


Leave a Reply

