Autism in Adults

There’s an interesting study that was discussed on LB/RB that supports the idea that the number of autistic adults is 1% of the population, the same as the population of autistic children.  This compliments a conversation I had with my husband last week.

We were taking a walk and discussing G’s latest round of issues in school.  Specifically how he might feel now that his desk isolated from the rest of the class.  Instead of being in one of 4 small groups, his desk is against the wall by the teacher’s desk because he was having so much trouble keeping his hands within his own personal space.  Our worry is that he might feel shunned.  Then I remembered being in a similar situation in 5th grade and the relief I felt that I could focus on my work and not have to deal with the other kids and their snarky remarks all day.  I didn’t have to pretend to be part of the group or pretend to understand their stupid jokes. 

This is not the first time I’ve compared my school experience with G’s.  And I’ve mentioned on this blog in the past that G and I share similar sensitivities.  And I have some other sensitivities he doesn’t share .  We walked quietly for a moment, then I asked Dh the big question.  “Do you think I might be autistic too?”

He was quiet for another moment before answering me.  “Yes,” he said, “It’s highly likely.”  He then outlined many of my traits (I don’t want to disclose all of them right now) that would be considered red flags in a child.  This is certainly not conclusive, but it makes me think.  I’m so curious about this, I’d actually agree to being evaluated if I could find someone qualified to test adults.  It would explain so much and I would actually be so proud to have something like this in common with my son.  Does that sound crazy?

If the percentage of autism in adults is 1% and there is a genetic component to autism, then it stands to reason that at least some of the parents of autistic children are undiagnosed autistics themselves.  And would be considered very functional and successful, given that they are probably married, working and raising children of their own.  It makes me feel very hopeful for G’s future.

Published in: on September 26, 2009 at 9:28 am  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://lynnes.wordpress.com/2009/09/26/autism-in-adults/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. actually, I have had some similar thoughts. I see so many of my own struggles played out in my kids’ lives. I have also considered testing. I think I may have attention defecit or sensory integration issues. I believe (as do many others) that these are part of the spectrum. I called one facility about testing but it is accross town and would take 3-4 appointments. Ugh. Who has time for that? But I may make time soon. It would probably be quite enlightening.
    I think you should look into it. Let me know how it goes! and you can email me if you want to privately compare notes on adult autism characteristics.


Leave a Reply

