Ok, Ok, I’m Thankful!

I’ve been quiet because the last couple weeks have been rough.  Without going into too much detail, there was an incident at school where G inappropriately touched a female classmate.  Not it a sexual way, more in a typical-for-G poking way, but still not good.  The other parents are understandably upset.  The school psychologist spoke extensively to G and DH and I went back to basics with regard to discussing private areas and personal space and *think* we have it handled so there won’t be a repeat occurence.

DH apologized to the other parents, although they were not exactly receptive to our apology.  We live in a very small town so we’ll see them often which makes this situation more difficult.  And for the last 10 days I’ve been having a hard time getting past my feelings of shame and mortification.  I’m not proud of this, but I spent a fair amount of time wallowing in self-pity and feeling depressed.

Then the other night, I had the absolute worst dream.  I dreamt DH and G were in a car crash and died.  It was one of those incredibly realistic dreams where I woke up with tears in my eyes and a feeling of overwhelming panic.  I had to check that everyone was safe in their beds and even after that it still took quite some time for me to fall asleep. 

Essentially, my psyche kicked my ass and told me to get over myself.  Since having that awful dream I’ve found it much easier to feel positive and keep my eye on our family blessings instead of obsessing on our family challenges.  You can be sure I spent time yesterday being thankful for my family, especially my wonderful G.

Published in: on November 27, 2009 at 1:38 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://lynnes.wordpress.com/2009/11/27/ok-ok-im-thankful/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

