Rigid Thinking Returns

Generally, when it comes to parenting I find myself working around G’s needs.  I wouldn’t say I’m flexible because I find comfort and security in routine just as much as G does, so there is little variation from day to day.  But if he needs to do things in a certain way or perform some sort of non-functional ritual to feel more secure, I usually roll with it.  I find it is more effective to gradually encourage flexibility over a period of time than it is to forbid him from doing it his way.

However, I’ve found there are limits to how much I’m willing to give in.  We have less than 30 days to go until our trip to the Winter Olympics and we’re spending time each week learning about the events we’re attending.  One of the events is bobsledding.  Our research has shown that  the technical name of the sport is Bobsleigh and that is the name G uses.  He also insists that everyone in the house uses that name.  And I just can’t do it.  I’m an avid fan of the Olympics, some of my earliest memories are cheering for USA to beat the USSR, and I’ve always called it Bobsledding.  I refuse to change and it is driving G nuts.  His insistence that it be called Bobsleigh is driving me nuts.  We’re both locked into our perspectives and neither of us is willing to give. 

DH is ready to tear out what little hair he has left.  Or maybe it is more precise to say he is ready to stuff us both in a bobsled/sleigh and shoot us down the mountain just to get some peace and quiet.

Published in: on January 24, 2010 at 2:56 pm  Comments (3)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://lynnes.wordpress.com/2010/01/24/rigid-thinking-returns/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. LOL, yeah, I have that kind of rigid thinking myself. We have basically the same approach with Andrew, and we’re slowly trying to be more spontaneous with him to break him of some of his rigidity, not all.

    By the way…have to agree with G…it’s Bobsleigh *wink*.

    But Bobsleigh, or Bobsled…I am completely jealous you’re going to attend the Olympics!

    • “By the way…have to agree with G…it’s Bobsleigh *wink*.”

      Not listening, not listening, Not Listening!!!
      😉

  2. There are many things I do that drive The Boy nuts. And vice versa. Keeps our lives interesting…at least, that’s how I get through it all. 😀


Leave a Reply

