Today’s Thoughts

I read an interesting, if disheartening, article about a study looking into why some kids are bullied or rejected by their peers.  Having social problems is the major risk factor.  Social problems are identified as:

Having problems reading non-verbal cues   check

Difficulty understanding social meaning   check

Problems coming up with solutions to resolve social conflict   check

It’s not that I’m surprised by this information, I know being bullied often comes as part of the package of Aspergers.  However, having the specific reasons spelled out like this was difficult for me to digest.  I read the article yesterday and had to put it away – I couldn’t bear to think about it.  We’re starting to see signs of children socially rejecting G and it hurts my heart like nothing else ever could.  But when I woke up this morning, the thoughts I shoved away yesterday were churning in the forefront of my mind.  It is time for me to deal with my worries directly, so I’m re-reading the article and considering solutions.

Luckily, the article also lists five steps to teaching the necessary social skills to kids with difficulties.  I appreciate this very much – too often these types of studies are all doom and gloom and leave me feeling hopeless.  Some of the tips we’re already using, others I’m not totally certain will work for G, given the nature of his particular flavor of autism.  But I’m willing to give it a good try.  There’s a book mentioned, you can be sure I’ll be adding it to my extensive library. 

Anyway, this is what is on my mind today.

Published in: on February 3, 2010 at 10:28 am  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://lynnes.wordpress.com/2010/02/03/todays-thoughts/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. This is always on my mind…my oldest is borderline Aspie and he has a hard time with getting along with people and has been bullied a bit in the past. Andrew, my boy with ASD, is well liked right now, but he’s still in Kindergarten…I have spoken with other families and the bullying and the social rejection started for their children around grade one or two…and that is fast approaching. Andrew enters grade one in the fall and we’re moving, so it’s a new school.

    • I hope the new school has a very proactive response to bullying. I’m very happy with G’s teacher and the way she handles the social stuff right now, but like you I worry about the future!


Leave a Reply

