Self-Advocating

I’ve been quiet because school is going well and I’ve been afraid to jinx it.  I’m doing my best to live in the moment but still don’t have the guts to brag about the good times, the best I can do is quiet enjoyment.  There have been some issues but they’re the kind of issues we had during the calm times last year, not at all what I’d expect from the dreaded first month of school.  However, these issues have frustrated some of G’s classmates and are starting to impact his ability to befriend these students.  His teacher suggested to G that he share the snapshot that we provide the adults that will come into contact with G with his class during the friday class meeting.  G was enthusiastic about the idea.  I am terrified.

I guess I should say I’m more anxious than terrified.  I think it is fantastic that G is secure enough in his identity as a person with Asperger Syndrome and is comfortable with opening himself up to his peers.  I think this means we’ve been successful as parents in our quest to make AS just another characteristic that makes a person special, like a talent for music or left-handedness.  Still, I worry about what the other kids will think.  I worry they’ll twist the information and use it to taunt G on the playground or label him with the dreaded r-word.  But I need to have faith.  G’s teacher has a solid special-ed background and I trust her to know how to handle her class.  The school psychologist that I adore will be present.  I’ve dug out our go-to books on the subject, “Can I Tell You About Asperger Syndrome,” and “Different Like Me, My Book of Autism Heroes.”

 Even with all my worries, I have to say I’m bursting with pride.  This is G’s first experience advocating for himself.  It’s what I’ve always wanted for him, to be able to take control of his autism and his life.  I guess I just didn’t expect it at 7 years old.  He never fails to amaze me.

Published in: on September 16, 2010 at 9:21 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://lynnes.wordpress.com/2010/09/16/self-advocating/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

